top of page

Tell the Story of Our Oceans



When I was 14, my parents took me and my brothers on a trip to South Africa. For the kid I was, it was a dream, the opportunity to see the animals from the stories of my childhood.


For the occasion, we had bought several little cameras, so everyone could take photos of the family. We knew that my mum would make an album of this trip, so it was also kind of a challenge to have the best pictures, so they could be in the album.


Today, I have more pictures of this trip that I have memories in my mind because I was always behind the camera. Being able to reproduce what I was seeing, and what I was feeling in front of these animals quickly became important to me.


I think this is where my passion for wildlife and photography was born.



I grew up with a great curiosity towards nature and science. Not only that, but I was, and I still am amazed by the way things exist in perfect balance on Earth.


One of my main toys was this little microscope I could take everywhere to observe insects, plants, and pretty much everything that I could find. I would run through my garden or the countryside, finding new discoveries every day, because this is one of the other things that moved me as a child: discoveries, science fiction, and adventures.


This is where the ocean comes on stage.


My main contact with the “marine world” was by walking on the shores of the Northern French coast, where I am from. I could see these strange animals or plants left on the beach, and always wondered what life was like out there.


How does an ecosystem thrive in such a hostile environment? I wanted to see these animals alive. Observing an electric blue jellyfish or these weirdly shaped ray eggs was the perfect link between science fiction and the wildlife I was so interested in.


As I was becoming an adult, it was time to put the dreaming on pause and to start studying.


I had to turn this passion into my job, so I could earn my living doing it. I went to university and studied environmental engineering to improve my knowledge in biology and to acquire competencies that could allow me not only to understand but also to solve problems.


During my course, I had the chance to get several experiences in marine sciences. I went on an exchange journey to Mexico where I studied oceanography and marine mammal zoology. For my Master’s thesis, I spent time in an aquarium, where I was working on tropical marine species’ reproduction to make the fish supply of the aquarium more sustainable.


This last experience kept me in the field of aquaculture at the end of my studies. I started a job in a company developing technologies applied to the aquaculture industry.


I liked the idea of working in an innovative environment to help this sector be more sustainable and to help to reply to the food demand on our planet. But when you’re a dreamer, it is difficult to escape this dream. I kept thinking about marine species, scuba diving, and this entire world I wanted to discover.


It would have been too disappointing to not try and make my way into this “marine conservation world”, therefore, I applied to every volunteer program I knew, hoping for some answer and for a place to start this new adventure.



I chose Mexico and flew to La Paz to join Whale Shark Mexico, a research program participating in whale shark conservation. I’m still working here today, developing my knowledge and skills while getting to know the people that fight for this important cause. In this new world, I am discovering and progressively finding my own role. And this might lead me to the very beginning of this story.


Indeed, as I was studying, I realized that most of my friends (who don't share the same passion for wildlife as me) didn’t really pay attention to subjects such as the climate crisis, biodiversity declining, or even the wonders of life on earth. It wasn’t their concern, it just wasn’t part of their life. But I also saw that these same people could get moved by a documentary, could appreciate a nice photo on Instagram or, for the luckiest, could come back amazed from a diving or safari trip.


We are moved by what we see, more than by scientific reports.



Since this observation, I chose photography as my ‘main tool’ to document the things I could see in the field. Of course, science is the key to understanding and allows you to unlock knowledge to protect and use our earth’s resources in the most responsible way, but you can’t expect everyone to be into biology, ecology, or physics, or have the knowledge needed to fully understand.


I want to be this bridge between science and the public.



My purpose is to give people something to care about. I am now combining these two passions (wildlife and photography) to show as many people as I can, whether it be for work or personal purposes.


Planet Earth tells us the best stories every day, so let's learn to listen to it.


 


Written by Arthur Caulliez


BIO:

Hi there! My name is Arthur Caulliez, and I am from the city of Lille in the North of France. I studied at ISA university where I got my Bachelor and Master’s degree as an agronomic and environmental engineer.


Passionate about the sea, I started to work at Whale Shark Mexico last September as a volunteer. I have recently achieved a position in the team, where I am now in charge of photography and networking for the project. The perfect way to participate in one of my favourite animal’s conservation.


To join me in this journey, don’t hesitate to follow me on social media!


Instagram: @arthur_caulliez



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page